index

Photos du Sahara

Images de désert

9 100 000 km2 - Pluviométrie de 0 à 25 mm par an
Température annuelle moyenne 30°
maximums à plus de 50°
  • Le Sahara
  • Historique des découvertes
  • Dénomination des météorites
  • Une météorite par jour
  • Localisation GPS

Merci de respecter les règles de Copyright



caravanne de chameaux, Sahara




petit erg, désert du Sahara

LE SAHARA

Avec une superficie de 9.100.000 km2, le Sahara offre à ce jour le plus grand potentiel de découvertes de la planète. Une prospection efficace dans un milieu aussi vaste et hostile passe par une très bonne connaissance des sols ainsi que des mécanismes géologiques et climatologiques qui vont au fil des ans créer des zones propices aux découvertes.

Si les météorites tombent partout sur la planète, en revanche très peu de terrains vont permettre leur conservation et leur apparition en surface. Ces zones de préservation des météorites représentent moins de 5% de la surface du désert.





Le Sahara, photo de Mauritanie





HISTORIQUE DES DÉCOUVERTES

Les premières campagnes de recherche au Sahara datent de 1989. Des passionnés de désert, parcourant l'Algérie et la Libye, y découvrent un important potentiel en météorites sur d'anciens terrains sédimentaires soumis à l'érosion. L'apparition des appareils de guidage par satellite, GPS, permet alors de parcourir des zones vierges en relative sécurité. Ces expéditions menées par des amateurs suisses et allemands vont récolter plusieurs centaines de météorites en quelques années. Ce sont les premières découvertes en nombre de météorites dans les déserts chauds.

désert du Sahara





Désert du Sahara, dunes
Cartes et Posters
Arbre dans le désert, Sahara Mauritanie
SaharaMet

Cartes, Posters Reproductions

Danita Delimont
Posters et photos du désert Désert & Sable
Posters d'Art







flore du désert





image du Sahara, Mauritanie

DÉNOMINATION OFFICIELLE

Compte tenu de l'étendue du Sahara et de l'absence de noms de localités, les météorites sahariennes portent le nom de la zone géographique de découverte. Un plateau comme celui de Dar al Gani en Libye couvre 6000 km2, plus d'un millier de météorites ont été trouvées sur cette surface, pour différencier chaque météorite provenant de Dar al Gani une série de numéros est attribuée. Ainsi DaG 001 fait référence à la première pierre répertoriée, DaG 597 à la 597ème. Cette règle, définie par la Meteoritical Society pour l'attribution d'un nom, est mondialement reconnue.






Photo après un orage. Le Sahara est le désert le plus aride, avec des précipitations comprises entre 0 et 25 mm par an qui tombent souvent en une seule fois.

photos, désert du Sahara





UNE MÉTÉORITE PAR JOUR

En moyenne, une journée de recherche est nécessaire pour trouver une météorite isolée, soit 200 km de prospection passés à scruter la moindre tâche sombre sur un sol clair à la vitesse de 25 km/h. De la patience, une grande persévérance, une connaissance des terrains et une bonne organisation sont des atouts majeurs.

Les informations précises accumulées depuis 1989 au Sahara, comprennent les localisations GPS, les photos et notes fournies par les équipes de prospection, les classifications et les analyses des laboratoires sur plus de 2000 météorites individuelles. Soit l'équivalent des données et découvertes en Antarctique sur ces 30 dernières années.

photos du Sahara




Images de désert





Photos de désert

LOCALISATION GPS

Dans le désert, chaque trouvaille fortuite ou emplacement de chute devient un indicateur ou un point de départ pour une recherche plus localisée, orientée et moins aléatoire.

Rares sont les météorites qui arrivent en un seul morceau. Souvent, le bolide d'origine se fragmente en entrant dans l'atmosphère, projetant les nombreux fragments sur des trajectoires similaires qui vont terminer leur chute sur une zone étendue appelée ellipse de chute. Une localisation précise de chaque découverte permet d'affiner la trajectoire de la chute, facilitant ainsi les prospections futures.






Tous droits réservés © Richard Pélisson, SaharaMet

index

Photos of the Sahara

Desert images

9 100 000 km2 - Average annual rainfall 0 to 25 mm
The average temperature is 30°
Summer daytime temperature is 50°
  • The Sahara
  • History of discoveries
  • Official name of meteorites
  • A meteorite per day
  • GPS localization

Please, respect Copyright rules



Camel caravan, Sahara




Small erg, Sahara Desert

THE SAHARA

With an area of 9,100,000 km2, the Sahara now offers the planet’s greatest potential for discovering meteorites. Effective prospecting in an environment as vast and hostile as this requires an excellent knowledge of soil types, as well as the geological and climatic mechanisms that have over the years created certain areas presenting a good likelihood of finds.

While meteorites fall everywhere on earth, there are very few sites at which they will remain well preserved or visible on the surface. Meteorite preserving surfaces represent less than 5% of the desert’s area.





The Sahara,  Mauritania photo





HISTORY OF DISCOVERIES

The first Saharan research campaigns took place in 1989. Desert enthusiasts travelling through Algeria and Libya discovered that these areas held an important potential for meteorite finds on what was once sedimentary land that had been subjected to erosion. The emergence of GPS devices then made it possible to explore virgin territories in relative security. Such expeditions, which were conducted by Swiss and German meteorite hunters, would result in hundreds of specimens being collected within a few years. These were the first large-scale discoveries of meteorites from the hot deserts.

Desert of the Sahara




Sahara desert sand
Card and Posters
Desert tree, Sahara sand dunes
SaharaMet

Cards, Posters Photoprints

Danita Delimont
Posters and photos of desert Desert & Sand
Art Posters







Desert flowers





Sahara, Mauritania

OFFICIAL NAME OF METEORITES

In view of the Sahara’s vastness and the absence of local communities, Saharan meteorites bear the names of the geographic regions in which they are discovered. In a plateau like Libya’s Dar al Gani, which covers 6,000 km2, more than a thousand meteorites were discovered on the surface. A sequence of letters and numbers serves to identify each meteorite taken from Dar al Gani. The reference DaG 001 was used for the first such stone catalogued, while DaG 597 was the 597th. This rule, which the Meteoritical Society uses for assigning names, is internationally recognized.






Photo after a storm. Such storms are rare and short, but can be very violent. The Sahara is a desert with less than 25 mm of rain a year and it can go several years without rainfall.

Photos, Sahara desert





A METEORITE PER DAY

It takes an average of one day of hunting to find a single meteorite. This effort involves 200 km of prospecting, at a speed of 25 km/h examining the slightest mottling on an otherwise clear landscape. Patience, persistence, excellent knowledge of the land and good organization are key assets.

Specific information that has been gathered since 1989 in the Sahara includes GPS locations, photos and notes provided by the prospecting teams, classification and lab analyses on more than 2,000 individual meteorites. This trove represents the equivalent of the past 30 years of data and discoveries from Antarctica.

Sahara photos




Desert images





Desert photos

GPS LOCALIZATION

Each random find or fall location in the desert becomes a point of departure for a more localized, focused and specific search.

Meteorites seldom land by themselves, in one piece. Often the original fireball bursts into fragments when it enters the atmosphere, catapulting its pieces along similar trajectories that hit the soil in an extended area termed the ellipse of fall. Precise location information on each find thus helps pin down the fall trajectory, making future prospecting work all that much easier.






© Copyright : Richard Pelisson, SaharaMet